About Faial

The Azores

Known for its natural beauty and awarded in categories such as Sustainable Tourism or Adventure Tourism, the 9 islands of the Azores make up an archipelago of unique beauty, which has charmed both its visitors and locals for centuries.

Officially designated as The Autonomous Region of the Azores, this is a transcontinental archipelago of volcanic nature, as well as an autonomous territory of the Portuguese Republic, endowed with political and administrative autonomy, located in the Northeast Atlantic.

From a geographical point of view, the islands can be divided into three groups: the western group, consisting of the islands of Corvo and Flores; the central group, formed by the islands of Graciosa, Terceira, São Jorge, Faial and Pico; and finally, the eastern group, composed of the islands of São Miguel and Santa Maria. Its current population (2021 data) stands at approximately 236,657.

Ready for a unique

If you are curious about the history, culture, or other facts about Faial, you can find here some information that can help you get to know a little more.